A Time and a Place.

A few weeks ago, I was listening to Sleeper’s 1996 track Sale of the Century, and the following lyrics jumped out at me:

Let’s take a photograph
We’ll burn all the negatives

These days, very few photographs are taken on film, but that’s how it would have been done at the time of the CD’s release nearly 19 years ago. As we fast approach New Year, it started me thinking about how the language we use can inadvertently place a piece of writing in a particular era.

For instance, I own a computing book published in the late 1970s or early 1980s in which the author writes, “When I was a young hacker…” But he’s not talking about accessing any systems illegally; the term hacker originally meant someone who was merely proficient at using computers.

I’ve just finished reading Quiet Dell by Jayne Anne Phillips. The story is part fiction, but based on a series of murders that happened in the 1930s. She uses newspaper sources from the period. One of these talks about the matrimonial bureau the killer used, and another mentions a colored porter working at a hotel. Although the actual date is mentioned at the beginning of each chapter, this sets the action in a social context. These days, of course, there are no matrimonial bureaux left while the latter term has become widely unacceptable.

It’s very difficult to know how language will change and it’s therefore difficult to adapt accordingly. You might write a story today about a character who watches a Netflix film on her tablet device, but within a decade, she might have it streamed directly into her head by BrainMoviez. Indeed, the word film itself is an anachronism, as it was part of the same technology mentioned in the Sleeper track.

One way around this potential obsolescence is to mention that a character is, for example, listening to music or driving a car without mentioning the source of the sound or the type of car. Yet that can deprive the reader of a sense of location. Even when a writer tries to create a sense of timelessness, there are often hallmarks that signal when the piece was written. Most readers will realise this and take it into account.

I’m now going to back up this entry to a floppy disc, dial into the Web, and post it.

3 thoughts on “A Time and a Place.

  1. This is so true, Gavin. I have now published four novels, and all but the fourth were written over a long time period, due to various circumstances. When I came to publishing, I had to rethink and edit quite a number of things because they were so out of date. With the novel I am poised to release, I have had a similar problem because it was one I started too long ago. From here on in, I have decided to get myself organised and write my novels faster, in an effort to keep up with technology and terminology! Either that or start writing historical fiction!

    Like

    1. I tend to write quickly. I then either do something with it, such as send a short story to a potential publisher, or let it fester, such as my five unpublished novels, so I’ve decided to set aside 2015 for looking for an agent.

      Of course, out-of-date references won’t always be the author’s fault. It takes so long between the initial acceptance and the publishing date that all manner of things can happen in between. For instance, there’s an innocent mention of Rolf Harris in one of my stories from before the scandal broke that I think is prudent to remove.

      I look forward to hearing more about your latest book when it’s released. I promise I won’t go through it looking for anachronisms.

      Like

Leave a Reply

